Do you run ESET on Windows Server 2003/2008/2008 R2?

What is SHA-1?

SHA-1 is a digest algorithm of the code signing certificate used by ESET to sign the code of its products. In a short timespan, ESET’s SHA-1 code signing certificate is expiring. Microsoft announced deprecation of Secure Hash Algorithm 1 (SHA-1) and started migration process to SHA-2 in early 2019. Newer ESET products use SHA-2 certificates meeting security standards.

ESET will no longer work on Windows 2003, Windows 2008 and Windows 2008 R2 without SHA-2 support

Your ESET product will no longer update its modules, including the detection engine, on operating systems without SHA-2 support. Ultimately, your ESET product will not be fully functional and will be unable to provide sufficient protection.

ESET server products on these older operating systems will expire by the end of December 2020.

There is a fix, but not for long

To continue receiving protection and the latest ESET features, older Windows Server operating system users must apply the appropriate operating system version patches, but not all operating systems support SHA-2.

ESET released high-priority information in their user guides:

SHA-2 required compatibility

Consider upgrading your ESET product for Windows Server to the latest version.

Read more

I have Windows Vista or Windows 7

Windows Server 2003 is no longer supported by Microsoft

Windows Server 2008 is no longer supported by Microsoft

Need further assistance?