Do you run ESET on Windows Vista or Windows 7?

What is SHA-1?

SHA-1 is a digest algorithm of the code signing certificate used by ESET to sign the code of its products. In a short timespan, ESET’s SHA-1 code signing certificate is expiring. Microsoft announced deprecation of Secure Hash Algorithm 1 (SHA-1) and started migration process to SHA-2 in early 2019. Newer ESET products use SHA-2 certificates meeting security standards.

ESET will no longer work on Windows Vista and Windows 7 without Microsoft updates

Your ESET product will no longer update its modules, including the detection engine, on operating systems without SHA-2 support. Ultimately, your ESET product will not be fully functional and will be unable to provide sufficient protection.

Which version of Windows operating system am I running?

Some ESET product versions expired on January 27, 2020. The rest will expire by April 15, 2021.

Temporary solution available on an unsupported version of Windows

To continue receiving protection and the latest ESET features,

Windows 7 operating system users must install SP1 and apply the hmtoggle_plus0 appropriate Microsoft Windows updates,

Windows Vista no longer supports SHA-2 and the latest ESET products do not work on this operating system.

Notifications about End of Life policies in ESET products



If you do not apply updates on your Windows 7, the protection status of your ESET product will turn Yellow in September 2020, informing you about the need to install SP1 with the latest Windows updates.
The same applies if you continue using Windows Vista, informing you about the need to install newer version of Windows.

The protection status of your ESET product will turn Red early in 2021 as a last reminder.

Read more

I have Windows Server 2003 / 2008

Windows Vista is no longer supported by Microsoft

Windows 7 is no longer supported by Microsoft


Upgrade your ESET product and operating system now

Need further assistance?